2019 State Awards

Congratulations to our State Award winners

The awards were presented at CMEA, during the General ASTA Membership meeting,

Friday, January 24, 4 PM in Colorado Hall.


Anne Paulu

Anne Paulu is a dedicated and passionate orchestra teacher with the Boulder Valley School District as well as a freelance violinist in the Denver Metro area.  She attended the University of Colorado, Boulder with an Honors Scholarship and received her Bachelors of Music Education.  Ms. Paulu continued her training at CU where she worked as a Graduate Assistant and completed her Masters Degree in Music Performance and Pedagogy.


She began her career with Lakewood Talent Education, teaching Suzuki Violin to 50 young children.  She started her public school teaching career working part time with the Cherry Creek School District.  Ms. Paulu accepted her current position in the Boulder Valley School District in 1997, teaching 5th grade through high school. She currently teaches at Centennial Middle School, 6th through 8th grade.  In 2012, 2015 and 2018 Centennial Middle School was awarded the great honor of performing at the CMEA conference in Colorado Springs.  


Ms. Paulu also performs in the Denver Metro area.  In addition to being a member of the Colorado Ballet Orchestra since 1991, she has had the privilege of performing at the Temple Buell Theatre with such Broadway show productions as Phantom of the Opera, Miss Saigon, White Christmas, and South Pacific as well as many others.  


Ms. Paulu believes that the quality of our culture, both present and future, is strongly linked to the quality of “The Arts” in our nation – how they are taught, valued, and preserved.  Education needs to be about developing the WHOLE child, valuing the areas of every discipline, and understanding how they cohesively build intelligence, discipline, compassion, and humanity.


Cameron Law​

J. Cameron Law is an award winning educator, cellist, conductor, and composer. He recently retired after a 29 year career as Director of Orchestras at Grand Junction High School and West Middle School.


Mr. Law is in his 29th season as the Co-Principal Cellist of the Grand Junction Symphony. He was the cellist with Trio de las Americas, formerly the Mesa State College Faculty Piano Trio, performed for six seasons with the Crested Butte Summer Music Festival, and was cello instructor at Colorado Mesa University. His private cello students have completed music degrees at such prestigious institutions as the Hart School of Music, Indiana University, and the Berklee College of Music. 



Mr. Law has conducted the Grand Junction Symphony, the Colorado All-State Orchestra, the New Mexico All-State Orchestra, the University of Wyoming’s Festival of Strings, the Fort Lewis College Honors Orchestra, the Mesa State College Orchestra, the High Desert Light Opera Orchestra, the Colorado State University Rocky Mountain Summer Music Camp Orchestra, and the University of Colorado Summer Musicworks Orchestra.  His orchestras at Grand Junction High School performed six times at the Colorado Music Educators’ Association Annual Clinic and Conference, and they performed in 2009 at Alice Tully Hall in New York’s Lincoln Center. 


Additionally, Mr. Law served for 20 years as the Camp Director for the CASTA Middle School String Camp and is a Past President of the Colorado Chapter of the American String Teacher’s Association. In 1999 he was presented with the Grand Junction Chamber of Commerce Outstanding Educator Award, and in 2002 he was named the ASTA Colorado String Teacher of the Year and received the Sylvan Excellence in Education Award. He has worked as a clinician and adjudicator throughout Colorado, as well as in Utah, New Mexico, Wyoming, New York, Hawaii, and North Dakota. Mr. Law has served on the Colorado All-State Orchestra Advisory Board and the Colorado High School Activities Association State Music Advisory Board, and he was the founding advisor for the Grand Junction High School Tri-M Chapter. 


Mr. Law is currently the String Editor for Grand Mesa Music Company. His compositions and arrangements appear on several state lists, as Editor’s Choices in the Pepper Music Catalog, and have been performed at the Midwest Conference in Chicago. His work Sinapu was premiered by the Grandview High School Orchestra at the 2015 National ASTA Conference in Salt Lake City. 


Mr. Law spends his summers as the Program Director for the Road Scholar Program at the Aspen Music Festival. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Cello Performance with University Honors and Academic Distinction from Colorado State University, and a Master’s Degree in Cello Performance and Teacher Certification from the University of Michigan, where he studied with Jeffrey Solow and Robert Culver. He has two grown children (Lindsye and Eric), and a grandchild ( Marky D the Mini Maestro).  He and his wife Kathy and their dogs Cooper and Patsy Cline enjoy all of the outdoor activities Western Colorado has to offer.

Colorado ASTA, Inc. Lifetime Service Award Criteria (nomination required)



  • All nominees must be a registered Colorado ASTA member during the time of consideration.

  • Minimum of 20 years of teaching experience.

  • Has served as a mentor to new teachers in the profession.

  • Has demonstrated leadership in the music profession.

  • Has demonstrated advocacy for music and string education.



  • Has been a presenter, clinician or host at a music conference.

  • Has served or is presently serving on the Colorado ASTA board or on a Colorado ASTA committee.


Colorado ASTA, Inc. Teacher of the Year Award Criteria (nomination required)



  • All nominees must be a registered Colorado ASTA member during the time consideration.

  • Exemplifies teaching excellence in string education either in the classroom or in the private studio.

  • Has mentored a new teacher or prospective teacher during the past 12 months

  • Serves on district, state, or national music committees.



  • Presenter at a CMEA, Colorado ASTA or other professional music education conference.

  • Has served or is serving on the Colorado ASTA board or on a Colorado ASTA committee.

  • facebook-square
  • twitter-bird2-square

© 2019 by Colorado ASTA. All rights reserved.